Operation Gratitude – Halloween candy for the troops & fundraising for no sew blankets

IMG_1877

All year long I’m busy writing letters and sending care packages to our troops overseas as a member of Soldiers’ Angels, and as an advocate for Operation Gratitude. Now that it’s September and we’ll soon be rolling into the holiday season, I thought it was a good time to talk about the work these charity organizations do, and my efforts to support them. 

Every Halloween, Operation Gratitude collects candy and treats, as well as letters to send to our troops serving overseas. It’s a fun event I try to promote by getting my coworkers, friends and family involved, and now I’m reaching out to my internet family. These troops are incredibly far away from their family at a time of year when we’re all starting to come together for Thanksgiving and eventually Christmas, and this is a wonderful way to just brighten up their experience. Put a smile on their faces because they’re serving to keep our country safe. I always encourage even more than the donations of candy, the writing of letters to these brave people, as I know they love to hear from all of us back at home. Even just a few sentences remind our heroes that we haven’t forgotten about them, and that we are thankful for the sacrifices they’re making. This year I really want to send a huge box filled with candy and letters of thanks and support to Operation Gratitude, and I hope you’ll think about helping me with that.

IMG_1884

As we turn our thoughts to the upcoming holiday season (and I know I’m early, but I’ve got to start somewhere lol) I want to let you guys know about another project that I’ve been working on for the last year. In my hardly crafty state, I have been making no sew blankets to send to the troops overseas as well as their families here at home for Christmas. These blankets lend a touch of home to the troops and remind their families that we’re thankful for the sacrifices they and their loved ones are making, especially if they won’t be home for the holidays. Each blanket costs me about $40 to make, so this holiday season, I started a GoFundMe for my project, to see if I could get some donations, and really make a lot more blankets this Christmas than I would be able to fun on my own. Trust me when I tell you, the look on a child’s face when they get one of these blankets because their mom or dad is serving overseas, or the letters of thanks I’ve received from troops who have gotten these blankets are more than enough thanks for the work and money we put in. Please help me, and be a part of an awesome Christmas for someone who truly deserves it. 

If you’re interested at all in any of these efforts, and want more information, please feel free to leave a comment below, or email me at Morgan.Lee.448@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

