Who We Are Today

Things don’t always work out the way we plan, in fact, they rarely do. We grow from those experiences though – from the hardships, the mistakes, pushing on and moving forward. We can’t look back, can’t wish for things to be different because our journeys have brought us right here.

Two years ago in August I wrote about how I needed to make a change in my life, to get back to the girl I used to be. I did make changes, some big ones like breaking up with someone I had been with for six years, and moving to a new place, but still that girl was lost to me. I realized that I would never find her, that she had grown up, had changed but that she was okay. I was okay because I had moved forward and found something even better in being grown up.

Shirking my responsibility wasn’t going to get me what I wanted, and while even back then I was more mature than most, I know now I still had growing up to do. We never stop growing up, never stop learning or changing but that doesn’t mean we have to hate the people we’ve become. I’m so much happier now that I realized what was holding me back, holding me down even and while I may not be that carefree 21 year old girl, I am a happy 25 year old woman.

Life is a journey, an adventure and I refuse to let anyone or anything keep me from discovering and growing.

Leave a Reply

